Navigation
Home Page

December

Seaglass by Eloise Williams

 

SeaGlass is Eloise Williams 3rd novel. It's a gorgeously creepy book set in Wales on a misty beach. Just like seaglass itself, this book dazzles and is definitely not for the faint hearted. The story perfectly combines the chill of a ghost story with the warmth of a family tale.

 

She will come for you... Lark struggles when her family and their friends go on holiday in a lonely caravan site on the Welsh coast for the autumn half term. Her mother is ill, her little sister has stopped speaking and she has fallen out with her best friend. Is a girl in a green dress following her in the fog? Or is her sister playing tricks on her? When a local woman tells her the girl comes to take sisters, Lark finds herself the only one who can save her family.

 

Perfect for fans of Emma Carroll and Lucy Strange, Seaglass is a chilling contemporary ghost story with a determined 13-year-old heroine defending her family and learning to handle her emotions.  Superb book. And SO creepy.

 

Can you see me by Libby Scott and Rebecca Westcott

 

Endearing, insightful and warmly uplifting, Can You See Me? is a story of autism, empathy and kindness that will touch readers of all ages.

 

Tally is eleven years old and she's just like her friends. Well, sometimes she is. If she tries really hard to be. Because there's something that makes Tally not the same as her friends. Something she can't cover up, no matter how hard she tries: Tally is autistic.

Tally's autism means there are things that bother her even though she wishes they didn't. It means that some people misunderstand, her and feel frustrated by her.

People think that because Tally's autistic, she doesn't realise what they're thinking, but Tally sees and hears - and notices - all of it. And, honestly? That's not the easiest thing to live with.

 

Perfect for fans of Wonder and The Goldfish Boy, this sucker punch to the heart is valuable reading for children and adults alike. What makes this book unique is the fact that the story is interrupted by real diary extracts from co-author, 11-year-old, Libby Scott who is autistic herself and talks about her experiences. I learned more about autism through this book than any course I have ever been on. I think it is an amazing book. 

 

 


Top