Home Page

Nominees and prize-winning books

2021 Branford Boase Award Longlist Announced


The longlist for the 2021 Branford Boase Award has been announced today. Set up in memory of award-winning author Henrietta Branford and her editor Wendy Boase, one of the founders of Walker Books, the Branford Boase Award is given annually to the author of an outstanding novel for seven year-olds and upwards written by a first-time novelist and also highlights the importance of the editor in the development of new authors. 


The longlist includes  Tpoet Patience Agbabi’s The Infinite, Wranglestone by Darren Charlton and The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates by Jenny Pearson, both shortlisted for the Costa Book Award, and A Kind of Spark by Elle McNicoll, recently announced as Blackwell’s Book of the Year. Previous winning editors on this year’s longlist include Sarah Odedina (2020 winner), and Rebecca Hill and Becky Walker (2018 winners).


Julia Eccleshare, chair of the judging panel says: ‘After the disruptions and challenges of 2020 we were delighted to receive so many entries for the 2021 award, and of such huge variety. Here are books to make readers laugh, to provoke and make us think, to make us hope. We are excited to share them with this year’s panel of judges


The longlist for the 2021 Klaus Flugge Prize was announced today, Thursday 11 February 2021. Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s picture book illustration. It honours Klaus Flugge, founder of publisher Andersen Press and a supremely influential figure in picture books.




Child of Galaxies, Charlotte Ager, art director Lilly Gottwald, (Flying Eye Books).


Dear Earth, Clara Anganuzzi, written by Isabel Otter, art director Thomas Truong, designer Emma Jennings (Caterpillar Books)


The Last Garden, Anneli Bray, written by Rachel Ip, editor Frances Elks, art director Paula Burgess (Hodder Children’s Books)


While You’re Sleeping, John Broadley, written by Mick Jackson, editor Neil Dunnicliffe, designer Sarah Crookes (Pavilion)


The Grizzly Itch, Victoria Cassanell, editor Grace Greave, designer Lydia Coventry (Macmillan Children’s Books)


Gustavo the Shy Ghost, Flavia Z. Drago, editors Tanya Rosie and Maria Tunney, art director Anne-Louise Jones (Walker Books)


It Isn’t Rude to be Nude, Rosie Haine, editor Fay Evans, designer Jade Wheaton (Tate)


RSPB Birds, Angela Harding, written by Miranda Krestovnikoff, editor Isobel Doster, art director Strawberrie Donnelly (Bloomsbury


The Twin Dogs, Chihiro Inoue, editor Fay Evans, designer Jade Wheaton (Tate)


Like the Moon Loves the Sky, Saffa Khan, written by Hena Khan, editor Ariel Richardson, art director Amelia Mack, designer Abbie Goveia (Chronicle Books)


A Hat for Mr Mountain, Soojin Kwak, editor Helen Weir, art director Chris Inns, designer Jo Spooner (Two Hoots)


Lost, Alexandra Mîrzac, editor Fay Evans, designer Jade Wheaton (Tate).


Fly Tiger Fly, Rikin Parekh, editor Ellie Brough, designer Grahame Lyus (Hodder Children’s Books)


Where the Sea Meets the Sky, Riko Sekiguchi, written by Peter Bently, editor Nicola Carthy, designer Grahame Lyus (Hodder Children’s Books)


I’m Sticking with You, Steve Small, written by Smriti Halls, editor Helen Mackenzie Smith, designer Jane Buckley (Simon and Schuster)


My Red Hat, Rachel Stubbs, editor Denise Johnstone-Burt, designer Charlie Moyler (Walker Books)


A Fox Called Herbert, Margaret Sturton, editor Sue Buswell, designer Rebecca Garrill (Andersen Press)


Bartholomew and the Morning Monsters, Ruan van Vliet, written by Sophie Berger, editor and art director Ziggy Hanaor (Cicada Books)


Rabbit Bright, Viola Wang, editor Nicola Carthy, designer Jennifer Stephenson (Hodder Children’s Books)


The After Christmas Tree, Bethan Welby, art director Janice Thomson, designer Goldy Broad (Scallywag Press)